Planning on driving around beautiful Delaware? First, you'll need to pass your Delaware permit test. Take the stress off passing the exam by preparing with a Delaware DMV practice test, which comes fully equipped with complete answer explanations to ensure your understanding of all the material.
Taking a practice test will familiarize you with everything you need to know to pass the test, from Delaware road signs to state laws.
Answer the questions below, and ensure you'll pass your exam the first time around.
DELAWARE DMV EXAM - QUICK STATS
Min Age to Apply
Delaware Permit Practice Tests
One of the best ways to prepare for you driving exam is by using free DE DMV practice tests. Our exams are completely free and require no registration. Utilize the answer explanations at the end of exam to better learn important concepts you may be tested on.
Delaware Road Signs
Many students are concerned about not recognizing common road signs when preparing for their exam. You can take our DE road signs practice test listed below. The exam includes only questions related to road signs.
About the Delaware Permit Test
The Delaware permit driving test is made up of 30 total questions. Of those 30 questions, individuals will need to answer 24 of those questions correctly to pass the exam. This comes out to a minimum passing score of 80%.
Individuals must be at least 16 years of age to take the Delaware permit test. You can expect to follow these steps before and after taking the Delaware permit test:
- Complete drivers ed
- Go to DMV and apply in person
- Fill out application form with parent or guardian
- Bring proper documentation
- Take and pass vision test
- Get your picture taken
- Pay the fee ($40)
- Get your permit
When applying for your permit at the Delaware DMV, you will need to provide proof of your name, age, and address. Typical documents you can use include:
- Birth Certificate
- Social Security Card
- 1099 Form, W2 Statement or Paystub
- Certificate of Naturalization or Certificate of Citizenship
Please be sure to check the Official Delaware DMV Site for complete details.
In addition, you will typically need to have a parent or guardian present if you are under the age of 18.
After you receive your learners permit, you will need to complete some general requirements to get your full driver's license. In the state of Delaware, you will need to complete 30 hours of drivers ed classroom hours and at least 50 hours of supervised driving hours.
Official Delaware DMV Resources
Delaware Driving Test FAQs
- How Many Questions are on the Delaware Permit Test?
- What is the Passing Grade for the Delaware Permit Test?
- How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Permit in Delaware?
- How Long Do I Have to Wait Before I Can Get a License in Delaware?
- What is the Minimum Supervised Driving Time Before I Can Get a License in Delaware?
- How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Driver's License in Delaware?
- What Restrictions Will Be on My Driver's License in Delaware?
- Is there anything else I need to know about getting my license in Delaware?
Q: How Many Questions are on the Delaware Permit Test?
There are a total of 30 questions on the Delaware permit test.
Q: What is the Passing Grade for the Delaware Permit Test?
For the DE written test, you must answer at least 80% of the questions correctly, which comes out to a total of 24 questions
Q: How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Permit in Delaware?
You may apply for a permit in Delaware when you are at least 16 yearsold.
Q: How Long Do I Have to Wait Before I Can Get a License in Delaware?
You can get your license in Delaware when you have waited at least 6 months after you received your permit.
Q: What is the Minimum Supervised Driving Time Before I Can Get a License in Delaware?
You can get your license in Delaware when you have had the following supervised driving time: 50 hours, 10 of which must be at night.
Q: How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Driver's License in Delaware?
The minimum age for a driver's license in Delaware is: 16.5.
Q: What Restrictions Will Be on My Driver's License in Delaware?
In Delaware you will have the following restrictions on your driver's license -
Nighttime Restrictions: 10 p.m. - 6 a.m.
Passenger Restrictions: no more than 1 passenger.
The Nighttime restrictions will be in place until you reach: 6 months of license or the issuance of a class D license (min. age: 17).
The Passenger Restrictions will be in place until you reach: 6 months of license or the issuance of a class D license (min. age: 17)
Q: Is there anything else I need to know about getting my license in Delaware?
In Delaware, a driver education student does not need a permit to drive with a driver education instructor. After completing the on-road requirements of driver education, a driver education student who is at least 15 years, 10 months may apply for a Driver Education Learner's Permit, which allows the student to drive while supervised by an experienced driver.
Upon completion of driver education, and if the student passes both the road and written tests, the student receives a Level 1 permit that for the first six months allows driving only while supervised. There also is a passenger restriction during the first six months of the Level 1 permit.
No more than one passenger (family members excepted) is permitted in addition to the supervising driver. The Level 1 permit for the second six months is the equivalent of an intermediate license. During that period, holders may drive unsupervised between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. and may only carry one passenger.
Applicants for a driver's license who are younger than 18 must have held a Driver Education Learner's Permit and/or a Level 1 permit for at least 12 months. Driver education is required for all license applicants younger than 18.