Phlebotomy Practice Exam 2
Please take a moment to complete this quiz. There are 20 questions.
The process of maintaining control of a specimen from the point of collection until testing is complete is referred to as what?

Phlebotomy Certification Information

Many states require phlebotomists to be certified.  There are currently six phlebotomy certification programs:

  • American Medical Certification Association (AMCA Phlebotomy)
  • National Center for Competency Testing (NCCT/MMCI Phlebotomy)
  • American Society for Clinical Pathology (ASCP Phlebotomy)
  • National Healthcareer Association (NHA Phlebotomy)
  • Association of Phlebotomy Technicians (ASPT Phlebotomy)
  • American Medical Technologists (AMT Phlebotomy)

Each of the certification programs includes training and an exam.

Typical phlebotomy certification exams will include questions on the following topics:

  • Obtaining Blood Samples
  • Specimen Collection and Processing
  • Special Collections
  • Waived and Point-of-Care Testing (POCT)
  • Time Management and Assignment Organization
  • Professional Communications
  • Clerical Skills and Duties
  • Safety Standards and Procedures
  • Infection Control
  • Legal, Ethical, and Professional Considerations
  • Terminology, Anatomy, and Physiology
  • Problems and Correction

 For more help, check out our free phlebotomy practice tests.


About Test-Guide was founded by a group of educators with a passion for preparing students to succeed on their exams. [Learn More]

Follow us