So you want to drive the Indy 500…or maybe just drive to the Indy 500. Either way, you'll need to pass your Indiana permit test first. The best way to make sure you're prepared is to use an Indiana practice permit test to brush up on your knowledge.
Our practice tests will assess you on everything you need to know to pass the first time around, from road laws to Indiana road signs. All of our practice tests are complete with answer explanations so you can fully understand the material.
Start by answering the questions below, and you'll be at the Indy in no time.
INDIANA BMV EXAM - QUICK STATS
Min Age to Apply
Indiana Permit Practice Tests
Begin your preparation by using one of the free IN BMV practice exams linked below. Our practice exams include answer explanations that will help you better understand key concepts. The exams are 100% free and require no registration.
Indiana Road Signs
Concerned about road signs for your upcoming exam? We've got you covered. You can use our IN road signs practice test to focus strictly on the signs of the road.
About the Indiana Permit Test
The Indiana permit driving test is made up of 50 total questions. Of those 50 questions, individuals will need to answer 42 of those questions correctly to pass the exam. This comes out to a minimum passing score of 84%.
Individuals must be at least 15 years of age to take the Indiana permit test. You can expect to follow these steps before and after taking the Indiana permit test:
- Apply for your permit in person
- Fill out the application
- Bring proper documentation
- Confirm proof of enrollment in driver education course
- Pass vision test
- Pass knowledge test
- Get your picture taken
- Pay fee ($9)
- Get your permit
When applying for your permit at the Indiana BMV, you will need to provide proof of your name, age, and address. Typical documents you can use include:
- Birth Certificate
- Social Security Card
- 1099 Form, W2 Statement or Paystub
- Certificate of Naturalization or Certificate of Citizenship
Please be sure to check the Official Indiana BMV Site for complete details.
In addition, you will typically need to have a parent or guardian present if you are under the age of 18.
After you receive your learners permit, you will need to complete some general requirements to get your full driver's license. In the state of Indiana, you will need to complete 30 hours of drivers ed classroom hours and at least 50 hours of supervised driving hours.
Official Indiana BMV Resources
- How Many Questions are on the Indiana Permit Test?
- What is the Passing Grade for the Indiana Permit Test?
- How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Permit in Indiana?
- How Long Do I Have to Wait Before I Can Get a License in Indiana?
- What is the Minimum Supervised Driving Time Before I Can Get a License in Indiana?
- How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Driver's License in Indiana?
- What Restrictions Will Be on My Driver's License in Indiana?
- Is there anything else I need to know about getting my license in Indiana?
There are a total of 50 questions on the Indiana permit test.
For the IN written test, you must answer at least 84% of the questions correctly, which comes out to a total of 42 questions
You may apply for a permit in Indiana when you are at least 15 years old.
You can get your license in Indiana when you have waited at least 6 months after you received your permit.
You can get your license in Indiana when you have had the following supervised driving time: 50 hours, 10 of which must be at night .
The minimum age for a driver's license in Indiana is: 16 years and 6 months (16 years and 9 months without driver education)
In Indiana you will have the following restrictions on your driver's license -
Nighttime Restrictions: First 180 days, 10 p.m. - 5 a.m.; thereafter, 11 p.m. - 5 a.m. Sun. – Fri.; 1 a.m. - 5 a.m. Sat. – Sun.
Passenger Restrictions: no passengers.
The Nighttime restrictions will be in place until you reach the age of: 18.
The Passenger Restrictions will be in place until you reach: 6 months of license or until age 18.
In Indiana, driver education determines the minimum age for permits and the intermediate license.
People enrolled in or who have completed driver education must be age 15 to have a permit; otherwise, they must be age 16.
The minimum age for an intermediate license is 16 years and 6 months with driver education and 16 years and 9 months without.