Plan on eating some Maine lobster? You'll need to pass your Maine permit test before you can get there. Taking a Maine permit practice test is the best way to ensure you pass your exam the first time around.
Our tests are designed to imitate the real thing, so you'll be familiar with everything you'll be tested on, from the laws of the road to Maine road signs. All our tests are equipped with full answer explanations for every question, so you'll be able to understand all of the material you encounter.
Preparing early is the key to success. Get started by answering some questions below, and you'll be sure to pass your driver's test on your first try.
MAINE BMV EXAM - QUICK STATS
Min Age to Apply
Maine Permit Practice Tests
Begin your preparation by using one of the free ME BMV practice exams linked below. Our practice exams include answer explanations that will help you better understand key concepts. The exams are 100% free and require no registration.
Maine Road Signs
Concerned about road signs for your upcoming exam? We've got you covered. You can use our ME road signs practice test to focus strictly on the signs of the road.
About the Maine Permit Test
The Maine permit driving test is made up of 30 total questions. Of those 30 questions, individuals will need to answer 24 of those questions correctly to pass the exam. This comes out to a minimum passing score of 80%.
Individuals must be at least 15 years of age to take the Maine permit test. You can expect to follow these steps before and after taking the Maine permit test:
- Complete drivers ed
- Collect proper documentation
- Fill out application form
- Submit application and proper documentation
- Pay fee ($35)
- Make written and vision test appointment
- Pass written and vision tests
- Get your permit
When applying for your permit at the Maine BMV, you will need to provide proof of your name, age, and address. Typical documents you can use include:
- Birth Certificate
- Social Security Card
- 1099 Form, W2 Statement or Paystub
- Certificate of Naturalization or Certificate of Citizenship
Please be sure to check the Official Maine BMV Site for complete details.
In addition, you will typically need to have a parent or guardian present if you are under the age of 18.
After you receive your learners permit, you will need to complete some general requirements to get your full driver's license. In the state of Maine, you will need to complete 30 hours of drivers ed classroom hours and at least 70 hours of supervised driving hours.
Official Maine BMV Resources
Maine Driving Test FAQs
- How Many Questions are on the Maine Permit Test?
- What is the Passing Grade for the Maine Permit Test?
- How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Permit in Maine?
- How Long Do I Have to Wait Before I Can Get a License in Maine?
- What is the Minimum Supervised Driving Time Before I Can Get a License in Maine?
- How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Driver's License in Maine?
- What Restrictions Will Be on My Driver's License in Maine?
- Is there anything else I need to know about getting my license in Maine?
Q: How Many Questions are on the Maine Permit Test?
There are a total of 30 questions on the Maine permit test.
Q: What is the Passing Grade for the Maine Permit Test?
For the ME written test, you must answer at least 80% of the questions correctly, which comes out to a total of 24 questions
Q: How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Permit in Maine?
You may apply for a permit in Maine when you are at least 15 years old.
Q: How Long Do I Have to Wait Before I Can Get a License in Maine?
You can get your license in Maine when you have waited at least 6 months after you received your permit.
Q: What is the Minimum Supervised Driving Time Before I Can Get a License in Maine?
You can get your license in Maine when you have had the following supervised driving time: 70 hours, 10 of which must be at night .
Q: How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Driver's License in Maine?
The minimum age for a driver's license in Maine is: 16
Q: What Restrictions Will Be on My Driver's License in Maine?
In Maine you will have the following restrictions on your driver's license -
Nighttime Restrictions: midnight - 5 a.m.
Passenger Restrictions: no passengers.
The Nighttime restrictions will be in place until you reach the age of: 16 years and 9 months.
The Passenger Restrictions will be in place until you reach the age of: 16 years and 9 months.
Q: Is there anything else I need to know about getting my license in Maine?
In Maine, driver education is required for a permit and a license if the applicant is younger than 18. The learner's permit holding period and the certification of practice driving applies to license applicants younger than 21.
The period of license restrictions may extend beyond the person's 18th birthday.