Do you want to drive to Mount Rushmore? You'll need to pass your South Dakota permit test first. We know taking your driver's test can be intimidating, which is why we created a South Dakota DMV practice test.
Our practice exams are designed with you in mind, testing you on everything you'll encounter on exam day. From state laws to South Dakota road signs, you'll be a pro on the road in no time.
The key to success is preparing early. Get started by answering the questions below.
SOUTH DAKOTA DMV EXAM - QUICK STATS
Min Age to Apply
South Dakota Permit Practice Tests
Use one of our free South Dakota DMV practice tests linked below. You will find answer explanations at the end of each exam. Make sure to use those explanations to help you learn important concepts.
South Dakota Road Signs
If you are more concerned about road signs, you can take our South Dakota road signs practice test. The exam includes signs you may see on your actual exam.
About the South Dakota Permit Test
The South Dakota permit driving test is made up of 25 total questions. Of those 25 questions, individuals will need to answer 20 of those questions correctly to pass the exam. This comes out to a minimum passing score of 80%.
Individuals must be at least 14 years of age to take the South Dakota permit test. You can expect to follow these steps before and after taking the South Dakota permit test:
- Apply for your permit in person
- Provide proper documentation
- Pass knowledge test
- Pay fee ($28)
- Get your permit
When applying for your permit at the South Dakota DMV, you will need to provide proof of your name, age, and address. Typical documents you can use include:
- Birth Certificate
- Social Security Card
- 1099 Form, W2 Statement or Paystub
- Certificate of Naturalization or Certificate of Citizenship
Please be sure to check the Official South Dakota DMV Site for complete details.
In addition, you will typically need to have a parent or guardian present if you are under the age of 18.
After you receive your learners permit, you will need to complete some general requirements to get your full driver's license. In the state of South Dakota, you will need to complete 30 hours of drivers ed classroom hours and at least 100 hours of supervised driving hours.
Official South Dakota DMV Resources
- How Many Questions are on the South Dakota Permit Test?
- What is the Passing Grade for the South Dakota Permit Test?
- How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Permit in South Dakota?
- How Long Do I Have to Wait Before I Can Get a License in South Dakota?
- What is the Minimum Supervised Driving Time Before I Can Get a License in South Dakota?
- How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Driver's License in South Dakota?
- What Restrictions Will Be on My Driver's License in South Dakota?
- Is there anything else I need to know about getting my license in South Dakota?
There are a total of 25 questions on the South Dakota permit test.
For the SD written test, you must answer at least 80% of the questions correctly, which comes out to a total of 20 questions
You may apply for a permit in South Dakota when you are at least 14 years old.
You can get your license in South Dakota when you have waited at least 6 months (3 months with driver education) after you received your permit.
You can get your license in South Dakota when you have had the following supervised driving time: none.
The minimum age for a driver's license in South Dakota is: 14.5 (14 years, 3 months with driver education)
In South Dakota you will have the following restrictions on your driver's license -
Nighttime Restrictions: 10 p.m. - 6 a.m.
Passenger Restrictions: none.
The Nighttime restrictions will be in place until you reach the age of: 16.
In South Dakota, learner's permit holders may not drive between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. unless under the supervision of a parent or guardian.