EMT Intermediate/85 TestThe EMT-Intermediate/85 certification will be known as the Advanced Emergency Medical Technician certification when the knew certification levels become formal in 2014.  Both a national NREMT cognitive exam as well as a psychomoter exam must be passed by applicants. Potential EMT candidates applying for an EMT-Intermediate/85 certification must meet certain requirements.  EMT-Intermediate/85 candidates must be 18 years or older.  EMT-Intermediate/85 candidates must also have an EMT-Basic certification at the national or state level.  Candidates must also have completed a state-approved EMT-Intermediate/85 course.  The state EMT-Intermediate/85 course must meet or exceed the US Department of Transportation National Standard Curriculum for EMT-Intermediate/85.  This EMT-Intermediate/85 state course must have been successfully completed within the previous two years.  Additionally, EMT-Intermediate/85 candidates must hold a current CPR credential and have successfully demonstrated competence in Intermediate/85 skills.

Free Practice Tests - use Test-Guide.com's Free EMT Practice Tests to prepare for your NREMT/EMT Certification Exams.
For More Study Tools - see Test-Guide.com's Recommended EMT Study Products to improve your chances of passing.

NREMT EMT-Intermediate/85 Exam Application Process

Take the following steps to apply for your EMT-Intermediate/85 examination:

  • Create an account/login at the NREMT.org website.
  • Complete a National Registry online application.  Please note that the application contains a Licensing Action and Felony statement.  The NREMT will deny your application if you have been previously convicted of a felony.  Denials, however, can be appealed.
  • Submit the application fee of $100.  The application fee is non refundable and can't be transferred. Every time you take the cognitive examination, you will be assessed this $100 fee.
  • Authorization To Test (ATT) will be given to you after successfully completing your online application.  The ATT will give you details on scheduling instructions, required identification, and test center locations.

NREMT EMT-Intermediate/85 Exam

Candidates for the EMT-Intermediate/85 certification must pass the NREMT EMT-Intermediate/85 cognitive test.  The EMT-Intermediate/85 test is given via a computer and is a Computer Adaptive Test (i.e., which adapts the test based on the student’s aptitude).  The number of questions on the EMT-Intermediate/85 exam will range from 85 to 135 based on the EMT student’s aptitude.  You will be given a maximum of 2 hours and 15 minutes to complete the EMT-Intermediate/85 exam.

EMT Intermediate/85 Psychomotor Test

Four separate skills are assessed in the psychomotor section of the EMT Intermediate/85 test process.  The skills are presented as scenarios to better simulate out-of-hospital situations that arise for EMT-Intermediate/85 professionals.  Development of the skills and the curriculum is based on the EMT-Basic and EMT-Intermediate/85 National Standards and Training Curriculum.

The EMT-Intermediate/85 exam will cover all portions of the curriculum, including: EMS Operations, Cardiology, Trauma, Medical, Obstetrics, Pediatrics and Airway and Breathing.  The EMT-Intermediate/85 test is heavily focused on fundamentals and operations.

EMT-Intermediate/85 Test Outline

The EMT-Intermediate/85 test outline is shown below.

 NREMT Intermediate 85 Exam Question Topics   Range of Questions on NREMT-Intermediate 85 Exam
 Airway and Breathing  15-24
 Cardiology  15-24
 Trauma  14-23
 Medical  13-21
 Obstetrics and Pediatrics  14-22
 Operations  14-22
 Total   85-135

Certified EMT-Intermediate/85 Responsibilities

EMTs bear the sole responsibility for maintaining their certification.  This includes the duty to notify the NREMT within thirty (30) days with respect to  any of the following:

  • A conviction of a felony
  • A change in address
  • Any state disciplinary action resulting in revocation, expiration, or suspension of a state license.

 EMTs have different duties and responsibilities based on their training and certification.  An EMT's salary is often different based on their experience, training, and location. Typically, most EMTs are certified to one of five levels that are administered by NREMT, the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians.  The five NREMT certifications are: First Responder, EMT-Basic, EMT-Intermediate/85, EMT-Intermediate/99 and Paramedic. An effective way to pass your NREMT certification exam is to use free EMT practice tests.


About Test-Guide

Test-Guide.com was founded by a group of educators with a passion for preparing students to succeed on their exams. [Learn More]

Follow us