If you want to get around in the Alaskan winter, you'll want to have a car. But first, you'll need to pass your Alaska permit test. Taking advantage of practice exams will help you make sure you're fully prepared on test day.
Our practice tests will test you on real topics you'll encounter on the test, such as Alaska road signs, laws, and more. Every question comes with a full answer explanation, so you'll walk away feeling confident, and will be taking your driver's test with ease.
Answer some Alaska permit practice test questions below to get started.
ALASKA DMV EXAM - QUICK STATS
Min Age to Apply
Alaska Permit Practice Tests
Use one of our free Alaska DMV practice tests linked below. You will find answer explanations at the end of each exam. Make sure to use those explanations to help you learn important concepts.
Alaska Road Signs
If you are more concerned about road signs, you can take our Alaska road signs practice test. The exam includes signs you may see on your actual exam.
About the Alaska Permit Test
The Alaska permit driving test is made up of 20 total questions. Of those 20 questions, individuals will need to answer 16 of those questions correctly to pass the exam. This comes out to a minimum passing score of 80%.
Individuals must be at least 14 years of age to take the Alaska permit test. You can expect to follow these steps before and after taking the Alaska permit test:
- Visit your local DMV and apply in person
- Fill out application form
- Have parent or guardian complete consent form
- Provide proper documentation
- Pass the vision test
- Pass the written knowledge test
- Pay the fee ($15)
- Get your permit
When applying for your permit at the Alaska DMV, you will need to provide proof of your name, age, and address. Typical documents you can use include:
- Birth Certificate
- Social Security Card
- 1099 Form, W2 Statement or Paystub
- Certificate of Naturalization or Certificate of Citizenship
Please be sure to check the Official Alaska DMV Site for complete details.
In addition, you will typically need to have a parent or guardian present if you are under the age of 18.
After you receive your learners permit, you will need to complete some general requirements to get your full driver's license. In the state of Alaska, you will not have to complete any hours of drivers ed classroom hours. You will need at least 40 hours of supervised driving hours.
Official Alaska DMV Resources
Alaska Driving Test FAQs
- How Many Questions are on the Alaska Permit Test?
- What is the Passing Grade for the Alaska Permit Test?
- How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Permit in Alaska?
- How Long Do I Have to Wait Before I Can Get a License in Alaska?
- What is the Minimum Supervised Driving Time Before I Can Get a License in Alaska?
- How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Driver's License in Alaska?
- What Restrictions Will Be on My Driver's License in Alaska?
Q: How Many Questions are on the Alaska Permit Test?
There are a total of 20 questions on the Alaska permit test.
Q: What is the Passing Grade for the Alaska Permit Test?
For the AK written test, you must answer at least 80% of the questions correctly, which comes out to a total of 16 questions
Q: How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Permit in Alaska?
You may apply for a permit in Alaska when you are at least 14 years old.
Q: How Long Do I Have to Wait Before I Can Get a License in Alaska?
You can get your license in Alaska when you have waited at least 6 months after you received your permit.
Q: What is the Minimum Supervised Driving Time Before I Can Get a License in Alaska?
You can get your license in Alaska when you have had the following supervised driving time: 40 hours, 10 of which must be at night or in inclement weather.
Q: How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Driver's License in Alaska?
The minimum age for a driver's license in Alaska is: 16
Q: What Restrictions Will Be on My Driver's License in Alaska?
In Alaska you will have the following restrictions on your driver's license -
Nighttime Restrictions: 1 a.m. - 5 a.m.
Passenger Restrictions: no passengers younger than 21.
The Nighttime restrictions will be in place until you reach: 6 months of license or until age 18.
The Passenger Restrictions will be in place until you reach: 6 months of license or until age 18.