Getting your driver's license can be scary, but taking an Arkansas permit test is a lot easier when you have practice. That's why we designed our practice questions to be just like the ones you'll encounter on test day.
Taking an Arkansas permit practice test will help you familiarize yourself with Arkansas road signs, laws, and more. All of the questions on our exams are equipped with full answer explanations, so you'll walk away feeling confident and prepared to take your driver's test.
Practice makes perfect, so start by answering some questions below.
ARKANSAS DFA EXAM - QUICK STATS
Min Age to Apply
Arkansas Permit Practice Tests
One of the best ways to prepare for you driving exam is by using free AR DFA practice tests. Our exams are completely free and require no registration. Utilize the answer explanations at the end of exam to better learn important concepts you may be tested on.
Arkansas Road Signs
Many students are concerned about not recognizing common road signs when preparing for their exam. You can take our AR road signs practice test listed below. The exam includes only questions related to road signs.
About the Arkansas Permit Test
The Arkansas permit driving test is made up of 25 total questions. Of those 25 questions, individuals will need to answer 20 of those questions correctly to pass the exam. This comes out to a minimum passing score of 80%.
Individuals must be at least 14 years of age to take the Arkansas permit test. You can expect to follow these steps before and after taking the Arkansas permit test:
- Visit testing site
- Bring proper documentation
- Pass a vision test
- Pass a written knowledge test
- Go to local DFA revenue office
- Get your picture taken
- Pay the permit fee ($40)
- Get your instruction permit
When applying for your permit at the Arkansas DFA, you will need to provide proof of your name, age, and address. Typical documents you can use include:
- Birth Certificate
- Social Security Card
- 1099 Form, W2 Statement or Paystub
- Certificate of Naturalization or Certificate of Citizenship
Please be sure to check the Official Arkansas DFA Site for complete details.
In addition, you will typically need to have a parent or guardian present if you are under the age of 18.
After you receive your learners permit, you will need to complete some general requirements to get your full driver's license. In the state of Arkansas, you will not need to complete any hours of drivers ed classroom hours. You will need at least 40 hours of supervised driving hours.
Official Arkansas DFA Resources
Arkansas Driving Test FAQs
- How Many Questions are on the Arkansas Permit Test?
- What is the Passing Grade for the Arkansas Permit Test?
- How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Permit in Arkansas?
- How Long Do I Have to Wait Before I Can Get a License in Arkansas?
- What is the Minimum Supervised Driving Time Before I Can Get a License in Arkansas?
- How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Driver's License in Arkansas?
- What Restrictions Will Be on My Driver's License in Arkansas?
- Is there anything else I need to know about getting my license in Arkansas?
Q: How Many Questions are on the Arkansas Permit Test?
There are a total of 25 questions on the Arkansas permit test.
Q: What is the Passing Grade for the Arkansas Permit Test?
For the AR written test, you must answer at least 80% of the questions correctly, which comes out to a total of 20 questions
Q: How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Permit in Arkansas?
You may apply for a permit in Arkansas when you are at least 14 years old.
Q: How Long Do I Have to Wait Before I Can Get a License in Arkansas?
You can get your license in Arkansas when you have waited at least 6 months after you received your permit.
Q: What is the Minimum Supervised Driving Time Before I Can Get a License in Arkansas?
You can get your license in Arkansas when you have had the following supervised driving time: 40 hours.
Q: How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Driver's License in Arkansas?
The minimum age for a driver's license in Arkansas is: 16
Q: What Restrictions Will Be on My Driver's License in Arkansas?
In Arkansas you will have the following restrictions on your driver's license -
Nighttime Restrictions: 11 p.m. - 4 a.m.
Passenger Restrictions: no more than 1 passenger younger than 21.
The Nighttime restrictions will be in place until you reach the age of: 18.
The Passenger Restrictions will be in place until you reach the age of: 18.
Q: Is there anything else I need to know about getting my license in Arkansas?
In Arkansas, 14 year-olds can drive with an instruction permit after passing a written test. After passing a road test they are eligible for a learner's license. Unsupervised driving is not permitted by holders of either the instruction permit or learner's license.
The combined holding period for the permit and learner's license is six months. In Arkansas, applicants for an intermediate license must be 16 and must be crash/violation-free for six months. Licensees younger than 18 are prohibited from transporting passengers who are unrestrained.