Want to drive down to Disney World? Passing your Florida permit test is the first step. Taking a practice exam can help you prepare and feel confident on test day.
Our Florida permit practice test will assess you on everything you need to know, including an entire exam devoted to Florida road signs, so you won't miss a beat while taking the test.
Preparing early is key, so get started by answering the questions below, and get driving in no time.
FLORIDA DHSMV EXAM - QUICK STATS
Min Age to Apply
Florida Permit Practice Tests
Begin your preparation by using one of the free FL DHSMV practice exams linked below. Our practice exams include answer explanations that will help you better understand key concepts. The exams are 100% free and require no registration.
Florida Road Signs
Concerned about road signs for your upcoming exam? We've got you covered. You can use our FL road signs practice test to focus strictly on the signs of the road.
About the Florida Permit Test
The Florida permit driving test is made up of 50 total questions. Of those 50 questions, individuals will need to answer 40 of those questions correctly to pass the exam. This comes out to a minimum passing score of 80%.
Individuals must be at least 15 years of age to take the Florida permit test. You can expect to follow these steps before and after taking the Florida permit test:
- Finish course offered by local school board
- Go to center and apply in person
- Bring proper documentation
- Bring HSMV 71142 form
- Pass vision and hearing exams
- Get your picture taken
- Pass knowledge test
- Pay fee ($48)
- Receive your permit
When applying for your permit at the Florida DHSMV, you will need to provide proof of your name, age, and address. Typical documents you can use include:
- Birth Certificate
- Social Security Card
- 1099 Form, W2 Statement or Paystub
- Certificate of Naturalization or Certificate of Citizenship
Please be sure to check the Official Florida DHSMV Site for complete details.
In addition, you will typically need to have a parent or guardian present if you are under the age of 18.
After you receive your learners permit, you will need to complete some general requirements to get your full driver's license. In the state of Florida, you will need to complete 4 hours of drivers ed classroom hours for the TLSAE requirement and at least 50 hours of supervised driving hours.
Official Florida DHSMV Resources
Florida Driving Test FAQs
- How Do I Get a Florida Class E License?
- How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Florida Class E License?
- What Identification Documents Are Required to Obtain a Florida Class E License?
- What Tests Are Required to Obtain a Florida Class E License?
- What Driver’s Education Do I Need to Take for a Florida Class E License?
- What Are the Driving Restrictions for a Learner’s Driver License?
- How Many Questions Are on the Florida Class E License Test?
- What Is a Passing Grade for the Florida Class E License Test?
- What Happens if I Fail the Florida Class E License Test?
- How Should I Study for the Florida Class E License Test?
- How Much Does It Cost to Take the Florida Class E License Test?
- What Are the Requirements to Obtain a Florida Learner’s Driver License?
- Where Do I Take the Florida Class E Test? Do I Need an Appointment?
Q: How Do I Get a Florida Class E License?
To be eligible for a Class E license in Florida, you must fill out an application, provide proof of your identity and residency, complete a traffic law and substance abuse course, and pass three tests (written, vision, and driving).
If you are under 18, you will also need your parent or guardian’s consent—they must co-sign your license application.
Q: How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Florida Class E License?
To obtain a full-fledged Florida driver license (more commonly known as a Class E license) you must be at least 16 years old.
However, you will be able to obtain a learner’s driver license at age 15, although it has several restrictions not associated with the Class E license.
You must be at least 18 years old to apply for a Florida Class E license if you cannot obtain the approval of your parents.
Q: What Identification Documents Are Required to Obtain a Florida Class E License?
You will need documents establishing your identity and residency. To do so, all applicants will be required to provide one of the following: a government issued birth certificate (not a hospital issued certificate), an unexpired U.S. passport, a certificate of naturalization, or a certificate of citizenship.
In addition, you must provide a copy of your social security card. If you are unable to do so, a W-2, 1099 form, or paycheck stub containing your social security number will work as well. In addition to this you will also need to provide proof of residency.
All applicants should provide two of the following documents: a deed or mortgage, a rental or lease agreement, a selective service card, a homeowner’s insurance bill, official governmental mail with your name and address, or an automobile insurance bill.
Q: What Tests Are Required to Obtain a Florida Class E License?
You will need to pass a vision and hearing examination, a written test, and finally a driving test to obtain your Florida Class E license. Your written test will examine your knowledge of both road signs and Florida traffic laws.
Your driving test will test your ability to make turns, signal correctly, pass safely, and obey traffic signs—among other things.
Q: What Driver’s Education Do I Need to Take for a Florida Class E License?
If you have never possessed a driver’s license, you will need to complete a traffic law and substance abuse education course before applying for your Class E license.
You can find a list of approved course providers at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles’ website.
Additionally, many public schools offer driver’s education courses to their students that can substitute for this requirement.
Q: What Are the Driving Restrictions for a Learner’s Driver License?
If you possess a learner’s driver license in Florida, you must drive with a licensed person age 21 or older at all times.
For the first three months after you are issued a learner’s driver license you may only drive during the daytime; however, after three months you will be allowed to drive any time from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m.
Q: How Many Questions Are on the Florida Class E License Test?
There are 50 questions total on the Florida Class E written test. Ten of those questions will involve correctly identifying road signs by their shape or color, and the other forty questions will have to do with the traffic laws in the state of Florida.
For your driving test, consult the Florida driver’s handbook to see each of the specific maneuvers you must perform in your vehicle.
Q: What Is a Passing Grade for the Florida Class E License Test?
For the written test, you must answer at least 40 questions correctly to pass. It is up to the discretion of your test’s administrator to determine if you have passed the driving portion of your test.
Q: What Happens if I Fail the Florida Class E License Test?
If you fail either the written or driving examinations, you will be allowed to re-take the tests; however, you must wait at least one day after your failed attempt.
Keep in mind that you will have to pay a re-exam fee to take the tests again—the fee is $10 for the written test and $20 for the driving test.
Q: How Should I Study for the Florida Class E License Test?
The best way to prepare for the written portion of your Class E license test is to familiarize yourself with the driver’s handbook that is published by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
This guide will provide you with all the information you need concerning traffic laws and traffic signs. To prepare for the driving portion of the Class E license test you should practice the specific maneuvers outlined in the driver’s manual—with a licensed driver age 21 or older present, of course.
Q: How Much Does It Cost to Take the Florida Class E License Test?
The initial fee for a Florida Class E license is $48. However, if you fail either the written or driving tests, you must pay another re-exam fee.
Those fees are $10 for the written test and $20 for the driving test.
Q: What Are the Requirements to Obtain a Florida Learner’s Driver License?
To obtain a learner’s driver license you must be at least 15 years old, you must pass the vision, hearing, and written tests, provide proof of identity and residency (same requirements as a Class E license), and complete an approved traffic law and substance abuse education course.
If you are under the age of 18 when you apply for your learner’s driver license you must have the permission of at least one parent or guardian.
Q: Where Do I Take the Florida Class E Test? Do I Need an Appointment?
You can take your Florida Class E license test at the state driver license office, a tax collector agent’s office, through a driver’s education program, or through a number of officially approved third party organizations.
You may or may not need an appointment, depending on which one of these options you choose. It’s best to check ahead.