You can't drive through the Blue Ridge Mountains without passing your Virginia permit test first. We know that passing your test can be intimidating, which is why we created our Virginia DMV practice test.
Our practice tests are designed to test you on everything you'll encounter on the real exam, from state laws to Virginia road signs. All of our questions come with complete answer explanations, so you'll come away with a full understanding of all the material.
Preparing early is the best way to ensure you'll pass the exam on your first try. Answer the questions below to get started.
VIRGINIA DMV EXAM - QUICK STATS
Min Age to Apply
Virginia Permit Practice Tests
Use one of our free Virginia DMV practice tests linked below. You will find answer explanations at the end of each exam. Make sure to use those explanations to help you learn important concepts.
Virginia Road Signs
If you are more concerned about road signs, you can take our Virginia road signs practice test. The exam includes signs you may see on your actual exam.
About the Virginia Permit Test
The Virginia permit driving test is made up of 35 total questions. Of those 35 questions, individuals will need to answer 30 of those questions correctly to pass the exam. This comes out to a minimum passing score of 86%.
Individuals must be at least 15.5 years of age to take the Virginia permit test. You can expect to follow these steps before and after taking the Virginia permit test:
- Apply for your permit in person
- Provide proper documentation
- Pass knowledge test
- Pass vision test
- Pay fee ($3)
- Get your permit
When applying for your permit at the Virginia DMV, you will need to provide proof of your name, age, and address. Typical documents you can use include:
- Birth Certificate
- Social Security Card
- 1099 Form, W2 Statement or Paystub
- Certificate of Naturalization or Certificate of Citizenship
Please be sure to check the Official Virginia DMV Site for complete details.
In addition, you will typically need to have a parent or guardian present if you are under the age of 18.
After you receive your learners permit, you will need to complete some general requirements to get your full driver's license. In the state of Virginia, you will need to complete 30 hours of drivers ed classroom hours and at least 45 hours of supervised driving hours.
Official Virginia DMV Resources
Virginia Driving Test FAQs
- How Many Questions are on the Virginia Permit Test?
- What is the Passing Grade for the Virginia Permit Test?
- How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Permit in Virginia?
- How Long Do I Have to Wait Before I Can Get a License in Virginia?
- What is the Minimum Supervised Driving Time Before I Can Get a License in Virginia?
- How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Driver's License in Virginia?
- What Restrictions Will Be on My Driver's License in Virginia?
- Is there anything else I need to know about getting my license in Virginia?
Q: How Many Questions are on the Virginia Permit Test?
There are a total of 35 questions on the Virginia permit test.
Q: What is the Passing Grade for the Virginia Permit Test?
For the VA written test, you must answer at least 86% of the questions correctly, which comes out to a total of 30 questions
Q: How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Permit in Virginia?
You may apply for a permit in Virginia when you are at least 15 years 6 months old.
Q: How Long Do I Have to Wait Before I Can Get a License in Virginia?
You can get your license in Virginia when you have waited at least 9 months after you received your permit.
Q: What is the Minimum Supervised Driving Time Before I Can Get a License in Virginia?
You can get your license in Virginia when you have had the following supervised driving time: 45 hours, 15 of which must be at night.
Q: How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Driver's License in Virginia?
The minimum age for a driver's license in Virginia is: 16 years, 3 months
Q: What Restrictions Will Be on My Driver's License in Virginia?
In Virginia you will have the following restrictions on your driver's license -
Nighttime Restrictions: midnight - 4 a.m.
Passenger Restrictions: first 12 months—no more than 1 passenger younger than 21; thereafter, no more than 3 passengers younger than 21 secondary enforcement.
The Nighttime restrictions will be in place until you reach: 18.
The Passenger Restrictions will be in place until you reach: 18.
Q: Is there anything else I need to know about getting my license in Virginia?
In Virginia, the night driving restriction and passenger restrictions apply to learner's permit holders. In Virginia, driver education is required for license applicants younger than 19 (18 if applicant holds a valid license from another state).
Northern Virginia and nearby counties have implemented a 90-minute segment for parents of driver education students.